Fast Fact Friday #6 The Religious Hoopoe

In the Bible, Leviticus 11:13–19, Hoopoes were listed among the animals that are detestable and should not be eaten.

They are also listed in Deuteronomy (14:18) as not kosher.

Hoopoe Eating Worm on Birding Planet

Hoopoe eating a worm on Birding Planet

 

See more Hoopoe articles here.

Read more Birding Fast Facts Here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *